Women jet into Matildas squad


Three Newcastle Jets Women squad members are amongst a 22-player Westfield Matildas side to participate in a four-day camp in Canberra starting today ahead of next week’s departure for the Cyprus Cup, and their ongoing preparations for May’s AFC Women’s Asian Cup.

Jets Women Captain Gema Simon, Vice-Captain Hannah Brewer and teammate Rhali Dobson have been selected by Matildas Head Coach Hesterine De Reus in the squad which excludes players from Westfield W-League grand finalists Melbourne Victory and Brisbane Roar.

The Australian team selected for the Cyprus Cup will go into camp on Monday ahead of their departure on Wednesday.

Australia are in Group B of the 12-nation annual event, considered one of the elite non-FIFA tournaments in women’s football.

The Westfield Matildas have been drawn alongside 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup semi-finalists France, Scotland and also the Netherlands.

All teams will play group matches on March 5, 7 and 10, with play-offs for final positions held on March 12.

The Westfield Matildas are preparing for May’s AFC Women’s Asian Cup in Vietnam, which double as FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

Reigning champions Australia will be seeking to secure one of the five berths on offer for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015.

Westfield Matildas squad for AIS-based camp (19-22 February)

Teigen Allen (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Mackenzie Arnold (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Melissa Barbieri (Adelaide United)
Nicola Bolger (Sydney FC)
Hannah Brewer (Newcastle Jets)
Rhali Dobson (Newcastle Jets)
Casey Dumont (Sydney FC)
Caitlin Foord (Sydney FC)
Heather Garriock (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Katie Gill (Perth Glory)
Amy Harrison (Sydney FC)
Michelle Heyman (Canberra United)
Alanna Kennedy (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Sam Kerr (Sydney FC)
Leena Khamis (Sydney FC)
Chloe Logarzo (Sydney FC)
Teresa Polias (Sydney FC)
Gema Simon (Newcastle Jets)
Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)
Lydia Williams (Canberra United)
Servet Uzunlar (Western Sydney Wanderers)
Emily van Egmond (Western Sydney Wanderers)